Installing recessed lighting

Alternatively called "The Lounge"
Bay_area_Hokie
Alma Mater: VT
Party: Surprise Party

Installing recessed lighting

Post by Bay_area_Hokie »

Bought a "new house", built in 72.

The rooms need recessed lighting and there is an attic above all the rooms.

Let's say I put in six cans in a room's ceiling. I can easily enough wire all six together, but how the hell do I connect it to the switch in the wall? Do I just snake the wire down in between the studs to the switch?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
“With God there are only individuals” - Philosopher Nicolas Gomez Davila
awesome guy
Party: After 10

Re: Installing recessed lighting

Post by awesome guy »

Bay_area_Hokie wrote:Bought a "new house", built in 72.

Let's say I put in six cans in a room's ceiling. I can easily enough wire all six together, but how the hell do I connect it to the switch in the wall? Do I just snake the wire down in between the studs to the switch?

I'm not an electrician, but I have started many electrical fires. That sounds about right to me.
Unvaccinated,. mask free, and still alive.
ieatbacon

Post by ieatbacon »

Yes. Drill a 1/4" hole in the 2x4 that is the top of the wall and drop the wire down. I don't know how real electricians do it, but I would knock out the existing box where the switch is so I have room to fish out the wire dropped down from the attic, then I'd replace the box with an existing construction box (one that's held in by pressure from two tabs vs. nailing/screwing into the stud) so I wouldn't have to cut any holes in the wall. Hopefully that makes sense...
Bay_area_Hokie

Post by Bay_area_Hokie »

ieatbacon wrote: